India has a world class Hydrographic Office, seven ocean-going platforms, well trained manpower and conducts internationally recognized training courses. INHD is a leading provider of hydrographic products and services in the Indian Ocean Region. The department has been actively supporting coastal states in IOR in hydrographic surveys, capacity building and nautical charting.

India has been an active and influential member of the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) since 1955. INHD fully supports the work programme of IHO and promotes India’s maritime interests notably on the issues of standards for global charts, strategic planning, emerging technologies and Global Maritime Distress and Safety Services. India is also one of the 30 members of IHO Council. During the inter assembly period the council coordinates the activities of the organisation within the framework of the strategy, work programme and financial arrangements.

INHD is also actively involved in various IHO committees as represented.


Hydrographic Services and Standards Committee (HSSC) Hydrographic Committee on Antarctica (HCA) Advisory board on the Law of the Sea (ABLOS) Worldwide Navigation Warning Services Sub Committee (WWNWS) INHD Capacity Building Sub Committee (CBSC)

 INHD also plays a significant role in various IHO Working Groups as shown.   


India is one of the founding members of North Indian Ocean Hydrographic Commission (NIOHC) and associate member of Southern African and Islands Hydrographic Commission (SAIHC).

India is also an active member of International Cartographic Association with an aim to promote the disciplines and professions of Cartography and GIS sciences in an International context.

India has strong bilateral ties with countries of the Indian Ocean, African and East Asian countries some of which include Mauritius, Seychelles, Tanzania, Maldives, Mozambique, Vietnam, Myanmar, Kenya and Sri-Lanka. Formal memorandum of understanding has been signed with many of these countries. INHD has undertaken numerous joint surveys in foreign waters for the benefit of the respective coastal states. These efforts have led to the production of 70 charts and ENCs in the International waters. The list of these charts is available at the catalogue uploaded at this website.  

The National Institute of Hydrography which functions under INHD, is recognized as the Regional Training Centre in Hydrography for the countries  of  the  Indian  Ocean  Region.  Personnel from 39 countries have been trained from across the globe. NIH is one of the few Institutes around the world which is recognised by IHO to provide CAT ‘A’ and CAT ‘B’ certification in Hydrography to Indian and Foreign trainees. The Institute has state-of-art training facilities to offer to the international students. INHD also conducts various tailor made courses for International students like ENC and Paper Chart Production. Further, a hydrographic training team has been set up in Mauritius with Joint efforts from Indian Hydrographers and Mauritian surveyors. India is the NAVAREA VIII coordinator for Maritime Safety Information Services and coordinates dissemination of navigational warnings to the mariners in this region. India is also the region J coordinator for INT Charts. India has supported and facilitated the publication of INT chart series for the benefit of various states falling in this region.